Treasurer Dennis Milligan Announces Applications Open for New Statewide Financial Education Commission

Little Rock, Ark. (July 29, 2021) – Applications for the newly-formed Arkansas Financial Education Commission open today, Treasurer of State Dennis Milligan announced. The Commission, which will be chaired by Milligan, was created during the 93rd General Assembly and sponsored by Sen. Missy Irvin and Rep. Bruce Cozart.

“We’re so excited to have a unified organization to focus on financial awareness and knowledge for all Arkansans,” Milligan said. “By offering Arkansans resources to increase their financial knowledge, we hope to create a brighter future for generations to come.”

The Commission’s purpose is to provide financial education programs to Arkansans in all geographic areas and socioeconomic backgrounds, and to promote the importance of achieving financial well-being.

The nine-person Commission will operate under the authority of the State Treasurer. Six members will be represented by state financial or education agencies and three additional members will come from the public, private or nonprofit sector.

To apply for one of the three, two-year positions which are open to the public, persons may visit the Treasurer of State’s website at Applications are listed under the Programs tab on the homepage. The deadline for submission is August 31, 2021.


Dennis Milligan was elected Treasurer of State in 2014 and re-elected in 2018. The State Treasury is responsible for overseeing the state’s $4.5 billion portfolio. Since taking office in 2015, Milligan has receipted the state more than $400 million in investment returns and has grown the investment portfolio’s receipts to record highs.