Statement on the Passing of Former State Treasurer Jimmie Lou Fisher

July 12, 2022 (Little Rock, Ark.)

Statement from Treasurer Dennis Milligan:

“I am saddened to hear of the passing of former State Treasurer Jimmie Lou Fisher this morning. Jimmie Lou was the longest-serving Treasurer of Arkansas, serving from 1981-2003. I had the pleasure of serving with Jimmie Lou on the board of directors for the Arkansas Rural Endowment Fund and always enjoyed her wit and charm. She had a graceful presence and truly cared about serving Arkansas. 

“Last summer I invited her to come back to the treasury and share some of her best stories from her time in office. One of the memories I recall was hearing her discuss how the tradition began of allowing the public to come into the state’s vault and hold hundreds of thousands of dollars. She offered it to children who came to tour the treasury as a way to engage them and also to help explain how their tax dollars worked. She is the one responsible for implementing the tradition of touring the vault and getting your picture made holding the money. This and the many other stories she told during our visit last summer were like taking a walk back in time, and I am undoubtedly grateful for having the chance to visit with her about how the state treasury operated back then.

“Jimmie Lou had a long history in public service to our state and will forever be the state’s longest-serving treasurer. She was indeed a real Arkansas treasure. My wife, Tina, and I are praying for her family during their time of loss.”

With the family’s permission, the State Treasury will have a condolence book available for the public to sign beginning Wednesday, July 13, through Friday, July 15. The Treasury is located inside the State Capitol building at 500 Woodlane, Suite 220, in Little Rock. 

Former State Treasurer Jimmie Lou Fisher visits with current Treasurer Dennis Milligan in the newly-restored treasury office at the State Capitol in this file photo taken in July 2021. Behind her rests a photo and plaque honoring her 22 years of service in the Treasury.